Join our monthly book chat on "Wolf Totem' by Jiang Rong.

An epic Chinese tale in the vein of The Last Emperor, Wolf Totem depicts the dying culture of the Mongols-the ancestors of the Mongol hordes who at one time terrorized the world-and the parallel extinction of the animal they believe to be sacred: the fierce and otherworldly Mongolian wolf

Published under a pen name, Wolf Totem was a phenomenon in China, breaking all sales records there and earning the distinction of being the second most read book after Mao's little red book. There has been much international excitement too-to date, rights have been sold in thirteen countries. Wolf Totem is set in 1960s China-the time of the Great Leap Forward, on the eve of the Cultural Revolution.


About CCC Chinese Book Club

The CCC Book Club is one of the earlist book clubs targeting expariates living in Beijing and the only book meeting groups focusing on China-related books for the international community.

At the CCC's Book Club, participants are assigned a great book to read (or selected chapters) and then asked to discuss its meanings with other book club members, using their own interpretations. All assigned books (mostly China-related fiction and non-fiction, a mix of classics and modern ones in English or with English translation) are available at CCC library and bookshop or at major foreign-language book stores where participants are encouraged to purchase their own copies.



You are also welcome even though you may not have read a single page of the book yet. Just join our discussion!

CCC Book Club day group:
10:30 am, every third Wednesday of the month.
Note: sometimes the date is different because of holidays. So check the monthly calendar for the most up to date info during the month.
Venue: CCC Learning Centre, Chinese Culture Club, Chaoyang District, Beijing, China.

CCC Booklist: Click here to view the whole booklist of the past meetings.
  •  

  • CCC does not offer regular set packages for this class. However we are happy to help you plan a private custom-made one. Please scroll this web page down to check prices and propose a date and your own group.